Did Hawaii or Alaska first become a state?

Did Hawaii or Alaska first become a state?

List of US states

State Date (admitted or ratified)
47 New Mexico January 6, 1912 (admitted)
48 Arizona February 14, 1912 (admitted)
49 Alaska January 3, 1959 (admitted)
50 Hawaii August 21, 1959 (admitted)

When did Hawaii become the 50th state?

August 21, 1959
Hawaii becomes a state. August 21, 1959 Hawaii officially became the fiftieth state on August 21, 1959. It is one of the smallest states, and it is the only state composed entirely of islands. The islands are the peaks of volcanoes, some of them still active. Hawaii’s history begins long before 1959.

When did Alaska become part of the United States?

A: Alaska became the 49th state to join the Union on January 3, 1959. Later that year, Hawaii would become the 50th state on August 21.

When did Hawaii become a state of the United States?

Hawaii was the 50th territory to be granted statehood in the United States of America. It gained statehood after Alaska, which was the 49th state to be recognized. Hawaii was granted statehood on August 21, 1959. It is the only state in the United States that is in Oceania and is made up entirely of islands.

When did Juneau become the capital of Alaska?

Juneau, which was the territorial capital, continued to serve as the state capital after Alaska was granted statehood. Alaska was not considered a territory of the United States until after the United States purchased it from the Russian Empire in 1867. It was not recognized as a state until 1959 , remaining in territorial status throughout.

Who was president when Hawaii became the 50th state?

Eisenhower signs the Hawaii State Bill. On this day in 1959, President Dwight D. Eisenhower signs a bill making Hawaii the 50th state. Ike, as Eisenhower was known, entered the White House in 1953 as head of 48 states; two more had been added by the time he left office in 1961.