Do you need a license to drive a boat in Hawaii?

Do you need a license to drive a boat in Hawaii?

Do you need a boating license in Hawaii? All powerboat operators are required by Hawaiian law to complete a boater safety course and carry a boater training card.

What equipment do I need to make my boat legal?

Two hand-held red flares and two hand-held orange smoke signals. Fire extinguisher if cooking equipment is on board. Waterproof and floating torch (if at night) A fire bucket.

What do boat operators need on board?

Personal safety equipment. Your personal safety equipment must be carried on board at all times. This includes life jackets and personal flotation devices (PFDs) as well as a buoyant heaving line. It is important that as a boat operator you not only have these on board but show your passengers how to use them…

Do you need a license to drive a boat in the USA?

Do you need a boating license to drive a boat? Each state regulates recreational boating instruction and licensing requirements. Some states require all boaters to have a license or certificate, while others have age limits for obtaining a license.

Can you be fined for not owning a boat in Hawaii?

Hawaii residents can actually be fined for not owning a boat.

Does my boat need a horn?

Bells and whistles – Any boat under 40 feet must have an effective sound-producing device such as a horn or whistle, and boats over 40 feet must have a bell and whistle. The mouthpiece of the bell must be at least 7.87 inches in diameter and the whistle must be heard at least ½ nautical mile away.

What must boats do at all times?

It is the responsibility of every boat or watercraft operator to: Drive safely. Take all necessary action to avoid a collision, taking into account weather conditions, vessel traffic and limitations of other vessels. These measures must be taken in time to avoid a collision and at a safe distance from other vessels.

What is a notice of compliance on a boat?

The Notice of Compliance indicates that the vessel complied with the construction requirements when it was built or imported (whichever is later). The notice also indicates the maximum number of people who can safely board the vessel. This is also known as the “capacity label”.

Do you need a license to drive a boat in Hawaii?

In Hawaii, anyone operating a motorboat or any motorized vessel with an engine over 10 horsepower must complete a NASBLA-approved boating safety course. When operating these boats, the license and certificate of completion must be with the boater on the boat they are operating at all times.

What should you know about boating safety in Hawaii?

As of 5/31/14, the prospective student must successfully complete a basic boating safety course approved by NASBLA and the State of Hawaii before enrolling in a Windward Community Thrill Craft Certification Course Middle School. For information on basic boating safety courses, visit:

How to become a certified boat operator in Hawaii?

State waters must have completed a boating safety course and show proof of certification. DLNR/DOBOR develops a comprehensive database of certified boat operators for the State of Hawaii.

Is there a free sailing course in Hawaii?

The BoatUS Foundation online course is the only FREE online boating safety course approved by the Hawaii Division of Boating and Recreation for the operation of pleasure craft. Recognized by the US Coast Guard, approved by NASBLA and your national boating licensing agency.