What is the Northwest Hawaii Marine National Monument?

What is the Northwest Hawaii Marine National Monument?

Provided by NOAA. This marine national monument protects a chain of atolls and reefs 1,931 kilometers (1,200 miles) long. The Hawaiian name for this chain is “Papahanaumokuakea”, which joins the Hawaiian words for earth and sky.

Are the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands part of the State of Hawaii?

Politically, they are all part of Honolulu County in the US state of Hawaii, with the exception of Midway Atoll, which is a separate territory of the State of Hawaii and grouped as one of United States Minor Outlying Islands.

What is the Hawaiian name for the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands?

It consists of two regions: eight large, populated islands, called the Main Hawaiian Islands (MHI), and 124 mostly uninhabited small islands, atolls, reefs, and submerged banks northwest of the MHI, called the Northern Hawaiian Islands. west. (NWHI).

How many Northwest Hawaiian Islands are there?

All of the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands formed on the same volcanic hotspot that formed the eight major Hawaiian Islands (Kauai, Niihau, Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe, and the Big Island) to the south.

Can you visit the Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument?

Access for general visitation purposes was previously permitted at Midway Atoll National Wildlife Refuge; however, due to recent reductions in refuge staff and operational capacity, access to historical and eco tours is not currently offered.

What does Papahanaumoku mean?

It means island in Hawaiian. Pāpapa (pah-pah-pah) means a low or flat place, like an ocean reef. Taken apart, this can translate to; “Dad” (earth mother), “hānau” (birth), “moku” (island) and “ākea” (wide or sky father).

What is the volcanic activity on the oldest of the large Hawaiian islands?

The oldest dated volcano near the northern end of the Emperor’s Seamount Range is 81 million years old. The bend between the two chains is dated 43 million years. Volcanism on the island of Kaua’i ended approximately 3.8 million years ago, making it the oldest of the main Hawaiian islands.

What is Hawaii’s largest island?

The Big Island of Hawaii
Orchid Island. The Big Island of Hawaii, of course, is the largest land mass in the Hawaiian island chain, which consists of eight main islands and 124 islets.

Can you visit papahanaumokuakea?

What is a National Monument in the Hawaiian Islands?

The other wildlife refuge in the national monument is the Hawaiian Islands National Wildlife Refuge. The crescent-shaped Mariana Trench is the “Grand Canyon” of the ocean (in fact, the Trench is much larger!) and includes some of the deepest known areas on Earth.

What is the name of the island of Hawaii?

Officially known as the City and County of Honolulu, the county includes both the Urban District of Honolulu (the largest city and state capital) and the rest of the island of Oʻahu, as well as several minor surrounding islands. The county also administers the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands, with the exception of the federally governed Midway Atoll.

Where are the Leeward Islands of Hawaii located?

The Northwestern Hawaiian Islands (also known as the Leeward Islands) are the small islands and atolls of the Hawaiian island chain located northwest of the larger islands of Kauaʻi and Niʻihau. For administrative purposes, all of these islands are controlled by Honolulu County.

Where are the National Marine Monuments located in the Atlantic Ocean?

The other is Jarvis Island, which is part of the Pacific Remote Islands Marine National Monument. The monument comprises two units in the waters of the Atlantic Ocean southeast of Cape Cod. The Seamounts Unit has four seamounts and the Canyons Unit has three seacanyons.